Monday, October 17, 2011

Gregg Allman, Robert Plant and Avett Brothers Honored in Nashville

The 10th annual Americana Music Association Honors & Awards took place in Nashville over the weekend. The Ryman Auditorium hosted the event which celebrated a variety of artists selected by members of the Americana Music Association. Robert Plant was on hand to accept Album of the Year honors for Band Of Joy. Song of the Year honors went to Justin Townes Earle and his “Harlem River Blues,” while Buddy Miller was selected as Artist of the Year as well as Instrumentalist of the Year. Lifetime Achievement winners included Gregg Allman, Jerry Douglas and Lucinda Williams while both Mumford And Sons and the Avett Brothers also received awards.
Americana Music Association Honors & Awards Winners
Album of the Year: Robert Plant, Band Of Joy
Song of the Year: Justin Townes Earle, “Harlem River Blues”
Artist of the Year: Buddy Miller
New/Emerging Artist: Mumford And Sons
Duo/Group of the Year: Avett Brothers
Instrumentalist of the Year: Buddy Miller
Lifetime Achievement for Songwriting: Lucinda Williams
Lifetime Achievement for Performance: Gregg Allman
Lifetime Achievement for Instrumentalist: Jerry Douglas
The Jack Emerson Lifetime Achievement for Executive: Rick Hall
Trailblazer: Bob Harris

No comments:

Post a Comment