Tuesday, April 5, 2011

Classic Albums Reissued This Week: Rush and the Tubes

What more can one possibly say about Rush's eighth and biggest U.S. release, Moving Pictures? This album was literally issued to all kids that grew up in the 1980s and is easily one of the seminal favorites of the Rush discography.  The album was orginally released on February 12th, 1981 and produced two of the all-time greatest classic rock staples: "Tom Sawyer" and "Limelight." Other highlights include "Red Barchetta," the Grammy-nominated instrumental "YYZ" and the fan-favorite,"Vital Signs." The reissue of this essential Rush album will be available in two formats: a digitally remastered CD which includes a Dolby Digital 5.1 surround sound mix on DVD and a digitally remastered CD Dolby Digital 5.1 surround sound mix on Blu-ray. In addition to the full album, the DVD & Blu-ray discs will feature three bonus music videos, "Tom Sawyer," "Limelight" and "Vital Signs."  Rush guitarist, Alex Lifeson, oversaw the remastering process for the 30th anniversary Deluxe Edition of Moving Pictures and used the original multi-tracks from the original analog master tapes to create the 5.1 surround sound mix. Finally, included in the package is a gallery of previously unreleased photos from the original recording sessions, newly written liner notes by music journalist David Fricke, and 30th anniversary artwork by album's original designer, Hugh Syme.  Move over, 1997 Rush Remasters, and here's to hoping that 2112 recieves the same treatment soon!

Being a "Deadhead," it was long after the 80s that I discovered the Tube's brilliant career upon learning of Grateful Dead keyboardist, Vince Welnick's origin in the Tubes. Originally released in 1981, The Completetion Backward Principle was the Tubes' sixth release and their first for Capitol/EMI after being dropped by A&M the prior year for producing nothing more than a cult following of rabid fans.  This album found the Tubes take a more straight forward approach with producer, David Foster and the album spawned the hits "Talk to Ya Later" and prom night favorite, "Don't Want To Wait Anymore." This digitally remastered and expanded edition of this 1981 classic includes four bonus tracks as well as new liner notes by rock journalist Brett Milano and interviews with band members Fee Waybill and Roger Steen.

No comments:

Post a Comment