Thursday, July 5, 2012

Exclusive Preview of Robert Plant & Band of Joy DVD (Relix)

Article Originally Published by Relix

In 1967, Robert Plant formed the Band of Joy with drummer John Bonham, before the two joined with guitarist Jimmy Page and bassist John Paul Jones the following year to form Led Zeppelin. Approximately 40 years later, he rekindled the name on the heels of his highly acclaimed collaboration with Allison Krauss (Raising Sand), feeling fit for the extraordinary group of musicians he assembled to cut an album and tour the world.

Those musicians include some of Nashville’s finest: the indelible, jack of all trades musician Buddy Miller, singer/songwriter Patty Griffin along with multi-instrumentalist Darrell Scott. When the band rolled into Nashville’s historic War Memorial Auditorium, The Artists Den was there to capture it in full cinematic glory.

“Some years back I was propelled by chance, with little planning or expectation into an American way…with a lean and pull into a new direction…voices and harmony, restraint and explosion, tight and loose, great joy in great company….in a blizzard in Nashville,” Plant reflects in the forthcoming DVD’s liner notes. “My thanks to one and all for aiding and abetting this exciting bend in the road.”

Pre-order the DVD today prior to its international release on July 9 and domestic release July 10.

The original broadcast left out a number of songs due to time constraints. Now released in full for the first time, the concert DVD features bonus interview clips and concert footage not included in the television broadcast, including six Led Zeppelin classics.

The full track list is as follows:

1. Black Dog
2. Angel Dance
3. Houses of the Holy
4. House of Cards
5. Cindy, I’ll Marry You Someday
6. Satan Your Kingdom Must Come Down
7. Somewhere Trouble Don’t Go
8. Tangerine
9. A Satisfied Mind
10. Move Up
11. Down to the Sea
12. Ramble On
13. Gallows Pole
14. In the Mood
15. Rock and Roll
16. I Bid You Goodnight

For more about the Artists Den, please visit

No comments:

Post a Comment