Saturday, July 2, 2011

Day One of Super Ball IX

Phish took the stage Friday evening to start their three-day Phish Super Ball IX festival at Watkins Glen International.
The band kicked off the festival with "Possum," and then quickly segued into "Peaches en Regalia," a Frank Zappa instrumental jazz fusion tune.  The covers kept coming during the first set, including ones from The Stones, Son Seals, Ween, Bob Dylan and the first version of David Bowie's "Life on Mars" since 2003.  
The first set bristled with energy and tight jamming and things got very funky on "The Mama Dance" and an extended "Wolfman's Brother."
The second set began with a tripped out "Crosseyed and Painless" which segued into a killer "Chalkdust Torture" that set the tone for the rest of the evening.  I really enjoyed the ambient jamming at the conclusion of "Simple" which was followed by a tight and precise "Bug."  
Not being able to attend the show this weekend is a drag, but I am certainly grateful for the folks at the Bunny, which is being broadcast all weekend long on SiriusXM and
Definitely looking forward to tonight's set and as always, the first night's set of Super Ball IX is available for download on

07/01/2011 Watkins Glen International

Encore: Show of Life

[1] Third Stone from the Sun teases
This was the first of the three-show SuperBall IX festival. Life on Mars? was played for the first time since 2/15/03 (175 shows).



No comments:

Post a Comment